Camp NaNoWriMo

2013-Participant-Camp-NaNoWriMo

Although I’ve never been to summer camp before, when I was 11 years old, us sixth graders were invited to camp for a week in the fall (autumn).  I absolutely loved it; everything from nature walks (including night walks), singing camp songs, to just being around friends (and no parents!).  Oh and I had a crush on one of the camp counselors.  He was Italian, and on our last day, he wrote in my notebook, “Ciao, bella”!  When he translated it to me, I swooned.  Then I showed it off to my friends who all revealed that they too had that written in their notebooks.

Even though November is NaNoWriMo, they’ve held a few Camp NaNoWriMo‘s during the year, and as there will be one in July, I’ve decided to participate.  It’s relatively easier – one can choose a word goal.  And I’ve also decided to “bunk” with up to seven other random “campers,” meaning, I’ll be in a group of other writers to support each other.  I just missed NaPoWriMo – that’s National Poetry Writing Month – (I see a trend here), where one commits to write a poem a day for 30 days.  So for Camp NaNoWriMo, I’ve decided to do a poem a day.  It’s a 10,000 word minimum, so I’ve made that as a goal, and as I don’t think I can write a poem that’s 323 words per day, I will also write a children’s story or two that I’ve been meaning to finish along with other anecdotes.

Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

