Novella in 30 Days

As one of my Christmas gifts last year, I received Chris Baty’s “No Plot? No Problem!” book on how to write a novel in 30 days.  Chris Baty is also the founder of National Novel Writing Month (conveniently referred to as NaNoWriMo), held every November.  After months of this book collecting dust on a shelf, I finally browsed through it.  And now that I just joined the local NaNoWriMo group, I’m declaring that I will write a novel/novella in a month.  That’s 50,000 words in 30 days.  I’m fucking crazy!

This is indeed official if I’m announcing it on my (neglected) blog, right?  So now I have to do it.  No excuses!

Now, what should I write about?  I’ve been switching amongst 3 novellas the last four years plus I just started a children’s story.  As you can see, I’ve a problem with focusing on one thing as I get bored quite easily.  Hopefully NaNoWriMo will motivate me to finish at least one novella!  Out of the 3 novellas I already started, I’ve decided to choose the very first one I started, a bildungsroman (I love that word!) story set in Italy.  That’s all the details I’m revealing for now!

So no more vegging out in front of the TV/tele, watching Dog the Bounty Hunter and Border Security.  Let the writing commence! (as of 1 November)

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

