Steinunn Thorarinsdottir, Peter Blake, and Picasso

I get 10 vacation days per year (damn you Europeans with your 25 days plus holidays).  However, I also get a Creative Day, which means I can take a random Wednesday off every quarter of the year.  I’d rather get 14 vacation days but whatever.

So today I started off my Creative Day nursing a hangover and treating myself to an egg, bacon, and cheese sandwich while catching up on Eastenders.  Once I felt like a human being again, I ventured to Dag Hammarskjold Park for its weekly Farmer’s Market as well as Steinunn Thorarinsdottir’s* Borders, an exhibition featuring her iconic life-size sculptures of people.  I was incredibly fortunate to go to her opening a couple of months ago where I was able to meet the artist herself and mingle with UN affiliates, artists, and art dealers (yup, whutovit?) I was amused how the people as well as the Farmer’s Market integrated with the sculptures:**

I read somewhere ages ago that Nicole Kidman is terrified of butterflies.  If this is true, then she would be utterly freaked out by Peter Blake’s works currently on view at the Mary Ryan Gallery.  This guy’s been around for awhile – he’s the dude that did The Beatles’ album cover for Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band yet has only exhibited in New York three times.  I absolutely love his works, and I’m officially saving up for one of his prints (and my first art work!).

Photo courtesy of www.artlog.com

Then I went to Gagosian to see Picasso and Marie-Therese – L’Amour Fou.  Crazy love indeed – the man was obsessed!  To see Picasso’s muse in all mediums and in different styles spanning from 1927 to 1940 was incredible.  It was a well thought out show.

(I wasn’t able to take any photos as security was pretty tight, including one who was singing to himself.)

I ended my Creative Day gorging on donuts at Doughnut Plant where I actually sat next to the owner, Mark Israel, who beat Bobby Flay in Throwdown! with Bobby Flay.  I highly recommend the Creme Brulee, Blackout (chocolate, chocolate, and more chocolate), and Salted Peanut Butter.

Art, donuts, and I forgot to mention, a basil plant that I’ve dubbed Basil.  A  successful Creative Day.

*Did you know that dóttir, means “daughter” in Icelandic?  So when a daughter is born, she will take her father’s first name and add dóttir as her last name.  Björk’s last name is Guðmundsdóttir (daughter of Guðmund), and if you’re curious to hear how it’s pronounced, click here.

**Initially I was going to use one of my Lomo cameras but since I forgot to bring it, I used the Hipstamatic app on my iPhone.  I feel like I’m cheating on Lomo as I’ve now embarked on a secret love affair with Hipstamatic.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art & Exhibitions

Leave a Reply

