Irina Werning’s Back to the Future

Irina Werning, LUCIA IN 1956 & 2010, Buenos Aires

The artist Irina Werning invited people to replicate their old photographs in her Back to the Future series of photographs.  I did this years ago with my cousins.  As teenagers we remade a photo we took as kids – same location but different attire.  I think they thought I was strange for the idea but they were happy to take part in it.  Unfortunately this was prior to owning a digital camera so both photos are stashed, you guessed it, somewhere in the back of my closet at my parents’ house.  (I swear, my closet is like a labyrinth filled with all sorts of embarrassing stuff that I think my significant other is looking forward to going through when we visit this year.)

Even though I couldn’t post my recreated photo, definitely browse through Werning’s series.  This does give me an idea – one day when my cousins and I are together at my parents’ house (where the original photo was taken), I’ll make them recreate the photo again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Art & Exhibitions

Leave a Reply

