Joe Fig’s Inside the Painter’s Studio

Growing up I was terrified of pets due to witnessing my friend being attacked by two dogs when I was about six.  Then at about 10 years old, I fell in love with the Littlest Pet Shop toys (even browsing through the Wiki site got me nostalgic as it lists the toys that came out each year in the 90’s).  Ten year old Van thought this would be the safest way to have pets plus no need to clean up after themselves!  I had a mini pet shop that served as a case for all my little plastic pets.  My fave ones were the turtles – one could pop his head in and out of it’s shell, ack!  And I still have it, in my room at my parents’ house shoved in the back of my closet collecting dust.

In my 7th grade math class, we had to construct a 3D mini version of our dream house.  We were of course learning about measurements, surface area, etc etc, but I was totally into it – from the actual design of the house to picking out all the furniture, paint, and wall paper.  I even added a garden.  And my love for miniatures continue to this day, as you can see here:

(It’d be fitting to also post a photo of my significant other next to my action figure of my significant other but I don’t think it’d be appreciated by the significant other.)

Joe Fig, an artist based in Brooklyn, recreated, as Caroline Stanley of Flavorwire describes it, diorama-like mini reproductions of artists’ studios. (Remember making dioramas in elementary school?  If not, you must recall The Simpsons’ episode where Lisa steals her rivals’ diorama based on Edgar Allen Poe’s “The Tell-Tale Heart.”)  Fig wanted to explore the working methods of noted artists such as Jackson Pollock and Willem de Kooning, but artist statement aside – These mini studios.  Are.  Awesome.  These would obviously put my 7th grade 3D paper house to shame (especially now since it’s probably crumbled up in a box somewhere in my closet).  He even created mini versions of some of the artists themselves.  Ack!  I can’t get over it!

Images of these miniatures, along with photos of the actual studios themselves, are now featured in Fig’s book, Inside the Painter’s Studio.  But I hope these mini replicas go on display soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Art & Exhibitions

2 responses to “Joe Fig’s Inside the Painter’s Studio

  1. Thanks so much for the kind words and support. Much appreciated! If your in the Boston area, there is a show of my work at MassArt.

Leave a Reply

