10 year reunion

Nope, not the 10 year high school reunion.

It’s been 10 years since I saw Jimmy Fallon in person.  And it’s been 10 years since I had a mad crush on him.

I was barely in college, and my cousin and I managed to get on the Seatfiller list  for the MTV Movie Awards, hosted by Jimmy Fallon and Kirsten Dunst.

I thought I was uber cool – my black, shoulder-length layered hair flipped outwards so that my pink hair was visible underneath.  I wore white muscle tee with the British flag emblazed in the front (a sign for things to come), jeans, and black buckled shoes with red stars from Hot Topic.

Although I didn’t get the chance to meet him, I did chat with Tony Kamal from No Doubt (second time I saw him was in Vegas at the gambling tables), and I made eye contact with Zhang Ziyi (when Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon was HUGE).  Oh the perks of living in southern California, hah.

Ten years later, I won band bench tickets to his late night show with guests Mike Myers, Matt Lucas, and Joanna Newsom.

The Roots performed throughout the show and they were A-MAZ-ING!  I wanted to stand up and shake my boo-tay but the crowd, who unfortunately weren’t feeling it, prevented me from doing so.  Maybe that’s a good thing?

Since it was on a Friday, Jimmy started off writing his weekly “Thank you” cards, and although this week’s were funny, it still annoyed me when he placed the card on top of the envelope, then “sealed” it shut.  Just place the damn note card inside the envelope!

Winds of War was a game featured on this show.  It consisted of a long plastic tube, and two people on different ends of this tube would blow into it, in the hopes of making a foam ball hit the opposing person’s side first.  And of course they chose two women to crouch over and blow on opposite ends of this tube while Jimmy stood in the middle of it all.  Classy.

I nearly cried from laughing so hard when Mike Myers kept fucking up Jimmy’s lines during a few short promo clips.

I love love LOVE Matt Lucas and can’t wait to see him in Alice in Wonderland.  And much to his dismay, I will see it in the cinema rather than his preferred way – viewing it on an airplane or You Tube.

Band bench tickets meant being able to go on stage while the musical guest performed.  After two takes on her performance, I managed to get Jimmy’s attention – he came over and shook my hand.  I can hear Van from 1o years ago telling me, don’t ever wash your hand!  Ever!!!

After the show, I ran into NBC New York’s local newswoman (who I think wanted to converse but I was drifting up and away on an escalator – I did tell her, See you at 11pm!).   And after roaming around midtown and Times Square failing to find a Cinnabon* (sorry no internet on my iPhone – gotta save up the moneys!), I came home and without thinking, I immediately washed my hands!  I guess a much older and wiser Van prioritizes hand sanitization over a crush from 10 years ago.  Sorry Jimmy, the NYC subway is filthy!

Watch the episode here.

*Don’t worry, I indulged into my craving the following day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

