Olympics withdrawal

It’s the last day of the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.  Le sigh. While the closing ceremonies are on live  and as my Olympics withdrawal begins to sink in, I’d like to recap some Olympic moments:

The opening ceremonies were okay – the majority of people said that the opening of the Beijing Olympics was a lot better. The only thing I remember from the Beijing Olympics opening was the committee swapping the little girl who could actually sing for what they defined a much cuter girl who ended up lip-synching the former girl’s song.  And those fireworks that appeared in the sky?  They were fake.

Is it me or did those huge statues in the very beginning of the opening looked like huge dildos?

A huge FAIL for the lighting of the Olympic cauldron – the most impressive way of lighting it was the 1992 Barcelona Summer Olympics when that archer dude shot an arrow into the cauldron from what seem like football fields away.  Amazing.

Speaking of the Barcelona Olympics, the 1992 USA Olympic gymnastics team (i.e. Shannon Miller, Dominique Dawes, Kerri Strug, Kim Zmeskal) inspired me to become a gymnast.  My only attempts were doing  round-offs on the edge of a pavement (balance beam),  cartwheels across my living room (floor exercise) and flips over my couch (horse).

Sven Kramer in 10,000 m = idiot.

Oh no for Ohno!  Disqualified, really?  Oh well, he’ll be making his way to Hollywood with 8 medals overall.

That P&G commercial thanking Olympic athletes’ moms – très adorable.

I’ve never witnessed so much drama and trash talking in men’s figure skating.   Last time there was this much drama was during the 1994 Winter Olympics in Lillehammer (Nancy Kerrigan vs. Tonya Harding – remember that?).  Regardless, that time I changed my life’s ambition from a gymnast to an ice skater.  I think I’ve only ice-skated once in my life.

I’ve never witnessed so many crashes and falls in my life!

This is the first time in 8 years that I’ve watched the Olympics on U.S. soil, and I’m reminded that one is practically nonexistent if one doesn’t medal.  I watched the 2004 and 2008 Summer Olympics and 2006 Winter Olympics in London, and the BBC have a different approach to competition.  It was oddly refreshing to hear BBC commentators and the rest of Britain celebrating their athlete in 18th position.

Watching moguls always makes me giggle because it reminds me of the Winter Olympics Nintendo game back in the 90’s.  When I talked to my brother about this he reminded me how I always chose Team USA, thus he “resorted” to picking  Team Canada.

Canada women’s hockey team and USA’s snowboarder Scotty Lago know how to celebrate their respective medals.  (I also would like to comment how cute Scotty Lago is… his abs + tat = HOT… but don’t worry European athletes, you guys were better looking than the Americans.)

However, homie needs a new pair of undies.

So what to watch now that the games are coming to a close?  I know what I WON’T be watching:  The Tonight Show with Jay Leno.  I’ll continue to track Conan’s tweets instead.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

