Happy New Year?

Swinging on the Moon

Back in June
I was swinging on the moon
Elated, overjoyed of the possibilities
Confident of my abilities
To succeed

Then this afternoon
A rush of your words brought me down
So I wrapped myself in a cocoon
Hoping to shut down
Thinking…

Back in June
I stumbled and fell
While swinging on the moon
Confused, hesitant of the possibilities
Scared of the responsibilities
Of my decisions

Then this afternoon
A rush of your words kept me down
But then I turned around
Where to?

Uptown
Midtown
Downtown
Hometown?

I thought the Big Apple had endless opportunities

And it’s so easy to give up
Because at times like these
It’s so hard to lift your head up
Hopes and fears are at a constant tug-o-war

And it’s so easy to fall on my knees
Look up and question the demi-gods,
“You think this is funny?”
Sighing as I imagine them nod

Back in June
I was swinging on the moon
Elated, overjoyed of the possibilities
Confident of my abilities
To succeed

Then this afternoon
A rush of your words brought me down
But then I turned around
Where to now?

© Van Francis

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

