Historical moment

Parks sat…

so that King can walk…

so that Obama can run…

so that children can fly…

-an inspiring quote I saw during a news segment at a school in New York during last night’s election

So this is how it feels like when history has been made!  Amazing!  The first time I voted – I just turned 18 and I remembered someone telling me that they didn’t care about the election and wasn’t planning on voting.  People seemed so apathetic about it, unaware of the privilege one has to do so.  And now, eight years later, I’m proud of my fellow Americans because last night, there was a record breaking number of voters.

In fact, it’s a little weird but I must admit, I’m actually proud to be an American.  So don’t make me regret saying it!

Onto something more amusing, here’s a link to the top 20 quotes by President George Dubya Bush:

http://uk.news.yahoo.com/blog/editors_corner/article/7847/

My faves:

“If this were a dictatorship, it’d be a heck of a lot easier, just so long as I’m the dictator.” – Dec. 19, 2000

“This foreign policy stuff is a little frustrating.” – April 23, 2002

“I was proud the other day when both Republicans and Democrats stood with me in the Rose Garden to announce their support for a clear statement of purpose: you disarm, or we will.” – Oct. 5, 2002

“There’s an old saying in Tennessee – I know it’s in Texas, probably in Tennessee – that says, fool me once, shame on – shame on you. Fool me – you can’t get fooled again.” – Sept. 17, 2002

“The truth of that matter is, if you listen carefully, Saddam would still be in power if he were the president of the United States, and the world would be a lot better off.” – Oct. 8, 2004

“They misunderestimated me.” – Nov. 6, 2000

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

