Lemons and such

I did a really idiotic thing last weekend – I wanted to test myself and see if certain photos of certain people would bother me.  And sure enough, it did.  It bothered me because in the end, I did the right thing, and here I am, alone.

But as they say, when life throws lemons, make lemonade, right?  But what if life throws all sorts of other things?  Sure enough, I got a call from Christie’s NY for a phone interview.  Then they asked me, “If you were to get this job, would you be able to move sooner?  Perhaps in a few weeks?”  Mind you, I was not expecting this as I didn’t directly apply for this job.  So a question like this definitely threw me off.  But later on that day, I realized, “Shit!  This is a great opportunity!  Of course I’ll change my plans for this job!”

Right before I left for Chicago I was a bit worried.  Yes, I’m embarking on so many wonderful experiences, but at the end of all this, life was uncertain.  What was I going to do?  Go back home?  I had no clue where to go.  Then while in Chicago, New York (finally) became an option.  And now, two months later, interviews have come my way.  Almost two years of being in California and nothing happened as far as getting a job in the arts.  And once I decide to move to New York, options have occurred, and I haven’t even moved there yet!  You would think that I wasted almost two years and that I should’ve moved to New York right after graduate school.  But honestly, I was so drained from life in graduate school.  I needed to go home.  I needed to conquer some of my demons, and I can proudly say that I have.

Even if I don’t get this job, I’ll still be able to travel to London and South America.  So I’m in a win-win situation here.  Life has reminded me that right now, I don’t need a man.

Leave a comment

Filed under Thoughts

Leave a Reply

